St. John's Episcopal Church Annual Meeting 22 January 2023

The 74th Annual Meeting of St. John's Episcopal Church was called to order by Rev. Roger Haenke at 10:22 a.m. There was a quorum (attendance record at end of minutes).

Rev. Haenke noted appreciation for the following:

- Tom Brzeczek, Bill Cheney, and David Dennehy whose terms on Vestry have ended
- Lynn Young, whose one-year term as Senior Warden has ended
- Jane Ferguson, whose one-year term as Clerk has ended
- Diane Gustafson, who received the Diocesan Servant Ministry Award

The Spirit of St. John's Award was given to Tim Attaway, who has served in many capacities, most notably as President of the Men of St. John's for the past five years and in planning the new Columbarium.

David Dennehy moved, Nancy Painter seconded approved of the minutes from the 2022 Annual Meeting, and the motion passed unanimously.

Parish reports, including from the Rector, Wardens, and various ministries, are in the booklet for this meeting.

Bill Cheney gave the Treasurer's report. He recognized the others who serve on the Finance Committee with him: Rev. Roger Haenke, Lynn Young, Terry Farrelly, Sally Elliott, Bob Dunn, Marcia Morris, and Michael Morris. Bill directed members present to look at the Treasurer's report, Finance Committee report, and Budget in the booklet provided. Banking services were transferred from Bank of America to Neighborhood National Bank. St. John's has also joined the Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce.

BUSINESS SESSION:

The Vestry brought a motion to elect Tom Brzeczek , Bill Cheney, and Jeff Bates to Vestry. Bill Gustafson seconded the motion. Seven votes in the affirmative had been received electronically. The motion passed unanimously.

Tim Attaway moved, Marcia Morris seconded election of Bob Dunn and Diane Gustafson as delegates to the Diocesan Convention November 10-11 at the Cathedral. The motion passed unanimously.

Diane Gustafson moved, David Dennehy seconded election of Lynn Young, Debbie Lothspeich, and Jeff Bates as alternate delegates to Convention. The motion passed unanimously. We have not had Sunday School since the pandemic began, and Heather Wallace is unable to bear the responsibility at this time. Diane Gustafson, Bill Gustafson, and David Dennehy will rotate teaching, with advice from Heather. This will begin on Sunday, January 29.

One of the Diocese's priorities is community engagement, and ideas were brainstormed.

Norma Ojeda suggested offering lectures and workshops on various topics to the parents of Head Start. The classes would be bi-lingual since Chula Vista is 65% Hispanic.

The tai-chi classes, which will end soon, have brought in people from the community. The Bonita Garden Club continues to meet in Nale Hall monthly and to take care of the rose garden. Their presence perhaps should be acknowledged with a sign "Bonita Garden Club meets here".

There was consensus that St. John's should be reaching out to families in eastern Chula Vista, and door hangers will be considered.

A survey was sent recently to parishioners and former parishioners about liturgy times. Thirty-seven responses were received. The majority prefer 9 a.m. Few prefer 8 a.m. There was interest in a 10 a.m. liturgy, although parents of young children find even that time difficult to get their families to church. An alternative service seemed popular. Diane Gustafson moved, Jamie Attaway seconded to offer an additional service at 11 a.m. for the Sundays in Lent as a pilot project.The motion passed unanimously.

Rev. Roger Haenke announced that he has appointed Lynn Young for a second term as Senior Warden, and she has accepted.

Rev. Haenke's goals for 2023 include:

- Congregational growth by 4 new families
- Evangelization through monthly La Misa in English worship and dinner to reach out to the Latino/Hispanic community
- Formation and Teaching by offering two educational opportunities to increase knowledge and faith among members of the parish
- Participation in the Diocese's 2023 Year of Service by leading St. John's in two diocesan ministry opportunities.

Pam Brittain has agreed to chair the Outreach Committee.

To honor the late Norma Dunn, who chaired St. John's Outreach Ministry for many years, a room in the building adjacent to Administration will be named The Norma Dunn Center for Outreach, Service, and Justice. It will be dedicated on Sunday, January 29. After praise for Rev. Haenke from parishioners for outstanding leadership, the meeting was adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Diane Gustafson, Recorder

Present:

Iris Atkins Gloria Attaway Jamie Attaway Malia Attaway Tim Attaway Jeff Bates Alice Burnham Judy Butcher **Bill Cheney** Irene Cheney David Dennehy Linda Dennehy Bob Dunn Terry Farrelly Jane Ferguson Ted Garcia Bill Gustafson Diane Gustafson Roger Haenke Tina Hughes Elizabeth King Gregg King Jim Lindshield Helena Livingston Debbie Lothspeich Judy McKay Marge Moore Marcia Morris Lynn Naranjo Norma Ojeda Nancy Painter Heather Wallace